Uncategorized

Susan Jones (Author Interview) – Mommy Who Is Allah?

As-salamu-alaikum pretty people! Hope you all are doing well! I’m here with a special post today, the very first time on my blog.. an author interview. … ta da.. ! And the author is “Susan(Zainab) Jones”. This is an interview conducted through email.  The review of her book and her interview are in collaboration with “Djarabi Kitab Publishers”.

I reviewed her children’s book, “Mommy Who Is Allah?” in another post and hope you’ve read it! If you haven’t then go read it here. And this post is an interview of sister “Susan(Zainab) Jones”.

Who is Susan(Zainab) Jones?

Zainab Jones is a Muslim American wife and mother. She has taught English as a second language in the Middle East for over fifteen years. Besides teaching, she writes informative essays and poetry. “Mommy Who is Allah?” Is her first children’s story.

Let’s roll in to the interview..

#1. Please tell us something we don’t know about you?

While volunteering at a Muslim summer camp these past couple of months I’ve come to realize that I’m really no more than a big kid myself. I still love doing all the activities and sitting in the floor with the children during story time. My big secret is that I love doing school related arts and crafts. My children and I would spend long hours on one project or another. We once made a paper mache globe during a social studies project.

#2. What motivated you to write “Mommy Who is Allah?” Series?

To be honest, my children weren’t the least bit interested in their religion classes at school in the Middle east. I grew up in the Presbyterian church and went to Sunday school and or Vacation Bible school so I was exposed to a different type of method of encouraging the love of God through stories and or activities. I wanted to impart that love of Allah to them but in an Islamic setting and according to authentic Aqeedah. In sha Allah.

#3. What other projects are you currently working on?

I’ve finished the second book in the series which focuses on Allah’s attributes, Al-Ahad Allahu As-Samad. It has more of a Juni B. Jones tone and its main characters are mommy and her young daughter, Muneera or Muni Moon. I’m currently working on the third book of the “Mommy who is Allah?” series which focuses on Al-Rahman Al-Raheem.

#4. What challenges have you run in the writing industry?

I’ve really enjoyed my experience this far in the writing industry. I feel like Allah has made it quite easy for me.

#5. Please share with us some of your favourite children books?

“Guess How Much I Love You” was one of our favourites. “Runaway Bunny”, “Harold an  the purple crayon”, “Frog and Toad” and “Just So Stories” by Rudyard Kipling.

#6. Any advice you would love to give to the Muslim mommies around the globe?

As a home school mom and afterschool ESL tutor we lived by a schedule. Even if we wanted to go on a field trip or take a day off we never strayed to far from the schedule. School began at 8 am everyday morning. But, take advantage of the freedom to integrate a lot of hands on learning activities and move away from pencil and paper learning. Math manipulatives, nature walks, projects and arts and crafts. Baking is a great way to teach fractions. Take pictures and enjoy with your children, they all grow up and we miss them when they were small.

Thank you sister Zainab for taking out time to answer the questions and giving advice to the mommies around! May Allah bless you and give you success in your beautiful work to educate the little mu’mins!

 

2 thoughts on “Susan Jones (Author Interview) – Mommy Who Is Allah?”

Leave a Reply

