Ramadan Gems-2017

Ramadan Gems (day 17: Do What You Say)

Do What You Say :-

Today morning when I was reciting Quran, I came across this verse of Surah As-Saf, verse no. 2 which goes like this

يٰۤاَيُّهَا الَّذِيۡنَ اٰمَنُوۡا لِمَ تَقُوۡلُوۡنَ مَا لَا تَفۡعَلُوۡنَ‏ 
(61:2) Believers, why do you profess that which you do not practise?

كَبُرَ مَقۡتًا عِنۡدَ اللّٰهِ اَنۡ تَقُوۡلُوۡا مَا لَا تَفۡعَلُوۡنَ‏ 
(61:3) It is most loathsome in the sight of Allah that you should profess what you do not practise.

And I was like wooaahh this is what we do many times, both knowingly and unknowingly. And we dont even think about it. When I read it, all those times when I assured my mom I would do something and forgot about it or wantedly neglected it, when I promised something to someone and forgot about it or sometimes knowingly forgot about it, all those scenes started picturing in front of my eyes. I could remember a few moments or I should rather say worst moments of my life where I did not do what I promised and messed up stuff so very badly and all this made me crazy.

All of us have a part of our life where we messed up stuff and wantedly, did not stand up for what we said and let’s face it. And did you read the third verse, it says that Allah hates it if we dont do what we say. This is damn serious. None of us wish to be hated by Allah. Right?

Then this means that there is a need to change ourselves. I was thinking about what should I post in today’s gem then suddenly while reading Quran I came across this ayah and quickly decided that I would write about this today because I’m super super guilty of this crime. Because I did this innumerable times, seriously guys I have this very habit, yes it became like my habit to forget about what I said and thus not doing what I promised to the other person(mostly it was due to forgetfulness even then.. It is terrible to promise someone saying “i will do that for you” and when they ask if I did it, then I was like ummm no sorry I forgot about it) 😦

So this is a reminder for you and for me to take care of what we say. Better say that which is possible for you to do otherwise keep quiet. And yes another scenario is when you try to be too generous to others and when there are 4 to 5 people asking help from you and you say a yes to all of them and finally end up helping one or two of them. This is also under saying what you cannot do. Do it within your limits, that which you can accomplish. I’m guilty of this too, but Alhamdulillah I realised this fact and now taking care of this. Ok ok don’t think too bad of me. Lol (LilyMohsen’s Loool, I just love the way she writes).

I feel like today’s post is not in order meaning its like I mixed everything, like I didn’t write it in a clean order like one passage focussing on one point. But I’ll not edit it cuz this is from my heart, my feelings in words. And I like it this way.

Whatever I write everyday it is more of a reminder to me than others. Because when I write something Im like a witness to it and I should follow what I say and write. So inshAllah we shall all focus on our shortcomings and work hard to better ourselves day by day (say inshAllah).

That’s it for today. Salam 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Ramadan Gems (day 17: Do What You Say)”

Leave a Reply

