Matters Of The Heart

The Five Pillars Of Islam :- A Brief Revision

As-salamu-alaikum pretty people !!  hope you all are doing well!! As I said I will be posting on Wednesdays and Saturdays… So here I am with a new post..May Allah(Azzawajjal) accept this tiny little work of mine…Ameen…

Hope you like it and if you find it useful, do share it with others !!! Cuzz spreading a good word is a Sadaqa-e-jaariyah.. πŸ™‚

Amidst all the fitnah around us, we often experience a fall or a drop in our “Imaan”, it’s like we are having “Imaan blues” { it’s my way to describe the feeling of depression when you feel low on your imaan ~ just like winter blues ;)}, and when you really get such crumpy feelings it is a must for you to recharge your Imaan.. cuzz you know, we’re not alone, we have “the shaitaan” behind us, eagerly looking for a slight slip in our walk towards the straight path.. so today’s post is my attempt to provide you guys a refill to fill your Imaan, in sha Allah.. and what can be better than taking a few steps back and looking at the basic five pillars of Islam. In our childhood we are first taught these five pillars..i.e

SAHIH BUKHARI ~

Volume 1, Book 2, Number 7 :
Narrated by Ibn ‘Umar

Allah’s Apostle said: Islam is based on (the following) five (principles):

1. To testify that none has the right to be worshiped but Allah and Muhammad is Allah’s Apostle.

2. To offer the (compulsory congregational) prayers dutifully and perfectly.

3. To pay Zakat (i.e. obligatory charity) .

4. To perform Hajj. (i.e. Pilgrimage to Mecca)

5. To observe fast during the month of Ramadan.

  • Shahadah:-

The word “Shahadah” means “testimony”, that means in simpler terms to bear witness.. so as we recite the shahadah, which can be divided into two parts,

index

We say that: “I bear witness (testify) that there is no God but Allah, I bear witness (testify) that Muhammad(SAW) is the messenger of Allah”.. by reading the translation I’m sure all of us have a pretty good idea of what is the meaning of the Shahadah which we daily recite in our salah, but I wish to give you little sneak peak of the Arabic Grammar hidden in this verse to give you a bigger picture..

In the first part, as we say “Ash-hadu Al- Laa Ilaha” the word “Laa” before the word “Ilaha”, is called “La – Naafiyatun Lil Jins”– don’t worry I’m not gonna leave it like that I will tell you its meaning.. it means ‘categorical negation’ otherwise ‘absolute negation’. This ‘laa’ is a special one which gives the meaning of strong negation, so in the translation it should literally be: “I testify that there is absolutely whatsoever no God but Allah”.. but why am I pointing this out to you ..? why why why… guesses..??? Oh come on , let me tell you.. you know what I do when I experience ‘Imaan blues’ I remind myself this fact that there is absolutely whatsoever no God but The Almighty Allah (Azzawajjal) and this reminder sends, waves of fear mixed with overwhelming pleasure, through my body and makes me realize that the only purpose of this life is for pleasing our Creator and crafting our hereafter..Reminding myself of this fact makes me understand that every good or bad that happens with us is all from Allah (SWT) and once we get this fact in our mind it becomes easier for us to deal with our lives and live happily.

Then the next part of the shahadah, where we testify that Muhammad (SAW) is the messenger of Allah, gives me another ideal way to lead my life by simply following the hadith and sunnah of our beloved Prophet Muhammad (SAW).

So this solves half of my problem and reduces my blues to half πŸ˜› .. and I get a seemingly clear picture that life is all about following Quran (i.e Allah’s words) and Hadith (i.e Prophet’s sayings).. But then again a question arises how am I gonna put this stuff in practice.. and you immediately find your answers in the next four pillars of Islam… Scroll down πŸ˜‰

  • Salah (Namaaz) :-

This second pillar helps me to put those kalimat we recited in the shahadah actually into practice … Salah is a bridge between the believers and their Master, it is the connecting rope for us to our Master.. Allah blessed us with Salah as a medium to soothe our minds, “increase our Imaan”, and to connect with him.. I am 101% sure that all of us know the story of how we have been blessed with the five times obligatory prayer.. let me give you a clue if you’ve not got my point… the Prophet’s(SAW) journey to the heavens and meet with Allah(SWT) where Rasulullah(SAW) requested Allah (Azzawajjal) to reduce the 50 times prayer and finally it got reduced to just simple five times for his ummah.. I hope now you’ve got it.!! This event of the Prophet’s(SAW) life makes me feel ashamed of my self when I feel lethargic to offer even those five times prayers when I’ve got Imaan blues.. How long is it gonna take us to offer our five times prayers, may be 2 1/2 hours if we allot half-an-hour to each prayer (which I know is too long, it only takes 10-15 mins), so are we not even in a position to spend such a short duration to please our Rabb, our Master, The One who created us… shouldn’t we be shameful..???

We have to ponder over all these thoughts and questions and only then we can fight with those dirty blues!!! So ..moving on to the next three pillars…

  •  Zakat:-

Now how can paying zakat or obligatory charity increase my Imaan….. how how how..???? I dont know why am I writing it three times πŸ˜› , anyways… so back to the question how is zakat gonna help us increase our imaan..??  ..  allow me to explain…

Zakat refers to paying obligatory charity …. it is usually offered in the month of ramadan.. however it can be offered any time of the islamic year, with a condition that it should be offered once in the lunar year.. want to know more check this link

So paying zakat is to give 2.5% of your assets willingly to the poor i.e Al-Masaakeen.. and when you willingly give something to others in charity, purely for the sake of your RABB, ALLAH (Azzawajjal) then that’s when you kick the shaitaaniyat(evil) out of you and win over your evil side.. BUT, remember you can only offer zakat willingly for Allah’s sake, if you have the first two pillars deeply rooted in your heart.. that is obvious.. if your heart and your mind both have held the first two pillars firmly then it’ll automatically become easier to pay zakat with a purifying intention. This is how zakat helps you increase your imaan..

  • Hajj :

May Allah (Azzawajjal) give each one of us an opportunity to perform Hajj and Umrah .. Ameen ya RABBUL Alameen..

All of us know that performing Hajj cleanses and purifies one like a new born baby… so when I remind myself of this beautifull event I feel relaxed, elated, and pray to Allah (SWT) to give everyone aan opportunity to visit Makkah Mukarramah and Madinah Munawwarah.. Iam sure even you guyz will feel the same when this beautifull thought crosses your minds… So here again I beat my Imaan blues !!!Yaaahhhh!!!

  • Fasting – Saum – Roza :-

The month of fasting .. Ramadan is near..all of us should buckle our shoes or tie the laces and get ready for the one month fasting marathon … Fasting brings a believer closer to his Creator.. As Allah (Azzawajjal) said in the Quran :

“Oh you who believe! Fasting is prescribed to you as it was prescribed to those before you, that you many learn piety and righteousness” (Q 2:183)

It is evident from the above verse, that fasting is a means to attain “Taqwa” i.e fear of Allah and thus when you fear Allah you get closer to Him, you start repenting for your sins and this inturn increases your Imaan..

But then again, if you do not believe in the above pillars then no doubt your fasting will be with an intention to show off to others and you fail to fight against your evil side..

Finally, the entire blog can be summarized to three points in my opinion :-

1. All these 5 pillars are interconnected..

2. Reminding ourselves of these basic yet important pillars of Islam can help us overcome all sorts of depressions, blues or anything..

3. All we have to do regularly is to ponder over these beautifull elements of our religion and that’s it..

You have got the remedy to lead a happylife… Ta daaa!!!!!

Hope you all liked it and found it usefull, If yes then share it with others, like, comment and let me know your thoughts!!

Do comment.. cuzz it means a lot and one more thing follow my blog to get notifications of new posts!! Until next time Assalamualaikum!!!!

2 thoughts on “The Five Pillars Of Islam :- A Brief Revision”

Leave a Reply

